Skip to content

Submission to OtherTees, Yetee and now Nowhere Bad

August 27, 2012

Update 28/8/12
So a few changes to the design. I made the eyes of the Vader symbol on the logo the same blue as the rest, instead of the white it had been.

Here’s the new image, in the submission file I sent.
Nowhere Bad Visa/Vader

Next up I submitted it to Nowhere Bad, they have a lot of geek related content, a lot of typographic related content and a lot of specifically Star Wars related content. So there should be no good reason eh!?

When I submitted it, they even flashed me up a nice form message of confirmation. A slight personal touch, appreciated.

Nowhere Bad confirmation

 

I forgot to update this with the Yetee info too, so here it is. This was rejected earlier than the new Nowhere Bad submission.
It was rejected after a reasonable amount of time and they even sent this very pleasant email letting me down gently. Classy

Hi Firepower,

We looked over your submission titled \”More People \”go\” with Vader\”.

We talked it over and decided that it isn\’t right for The Yetee right now. I hope you\’re not too bummed, we can\’t print them all.

We encourage you to keep working on your designs, and keep on making submissions.

Thanks,
Glen and Mike
Theyetee.com

 

Yetee Submission Visa/Vader

 

Update:

And there it is in less than 24 hours this has been rejected by OtherTees.

I guess you can’t win them all…..or if you’re me, and submission websites, any of them.

Good thing I’m not a quitter.

Visa Declinded

Well I thought I’d detail some of the ins & outs of tshirt design here on my blog, in this instance going through the submission process.
This is for a new piece of mine called “More People “Go”” and is based on the Visa brand and slogan.

I submitted it to Yetee, who rejected it, although in fairness it was one of the more pleasant thsirt rejections I’ve received.  So I’ll have no problems submitting more designs to Yetee in the future.

Anyway, this submission has now just been sent to OtherTees. I recently got a “not interested” response from them (on another design) which isn’t all that productive to hear. But I guess maybe they were po’d because they declined it, and I submitted it again straight away.  Although in my defense it was because it was my first submission through them and I didn’t really get their submission system. (it wasn’t all that intuitive shhhh)

Anyway so here’s the slogan:
Visa/Vader

I started off wanting to make it closer to the original by spelling it like “Vada” but some feedback on it apparently stated that people didn’t read it as a strong “a”. They were seeing it as Vah Dah. So I just replicated his full name. But here’s the original for you here.

Visa/Vada

Here’s the amended version.

Visa/Vader final

And finally here’s the submission template that I sent to OtherTees. I’ll update this post if there is any news on whether it gets through (yay) or they spit it back to me (boo).

Visa/Vader sub

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Illustration submission | Keritesorszag

Leave a Reply

